united nations ahamo

The United Nations: The World’s Government

In Human Rights, Politics by Dusty Croghan

The United Nations, formed on October 24, 1945 as a predecessor to the League Of Nations, is the world’s current international government.  With a foundation built around the atomic bombings of Japan, the United Nations has remained the world policy maker and international law enforcement for 70 years.  Every country that is a member of the United Nations is considered what is called an “ipso facto party” to the Statute of the International Court of Justice. Meaning, every country that is a member of the U.N. it falls under the Jurisdiction.  What is unknown to the majority of people is the mainstream information and agendas passed through each country is administered by the U.N..

The United Nations structured compartments that are known as “organs”.  The different compartments are The General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, International Court of Justice, and a Secretariat.  It is similar to the U.S.A and how policy gets passed through the Legislative, Judicial, and Administrate branches.  The framework of it’s global operation is set forth by its international charter. The countries that are members all agree to adhere to the policies set forth.  According to the U.N., the foundation consisted of 50 countries that agreed to the pact and as of today  193 countries out of 195 form the U.N..  The only 2 countries defined as non-members are Palestine and a small jurisdiction around Vatican City known as the “Holy See”.

The Security Council claims it has authority to maintain “international peace and security”.  It consists of fifteen countries with voting power at all times. China, France, Russia, the U.K., as well as the U.S.A. are known as permanent countries.  They remain on the council indefinitely.  The remaining 10 “non-permanent” members are elected for a term of two years.  They are not eligible for immediate re-election once they have served the term.  Also, the Security Council is in charge of determining what is to be considered threats, breaches of peace, and acts of aggression.  It then makes recommendations on what measures shall be taken internationally. The Security Council is also responsible for enforcing “equitable geographical distribution” amongst the world, a term defining the equality of power of all countries.  Currently each country is recognized as equal and has the power of one vote.

The General Assembly is what makes resolutions and determines international policy.  It consists of every country in the United Nations and makes decisions based on voting.  According to the U.N., “important questions, such as those on peace and security, admission of new members, and budgetary matters require a two-thirds majority” while “decisions on other questions are by simple majority.” The General Assembly also elects the ten “non-permanent” members of the Security Council.  Just as each country has the power of one vote, it is a requirement to pay dues each year.  Countries that are in arrears of payments must be given permission for the right to have their vote counted.

See the list of countries in arrears in the payment of their financial contributions.

The Economic and Social Council, known as ECOSOC,  consists of a board of fifty-four countries that are each elected by the General Assembly via the voting system. ECOSOC is the central international economic and social policy board.  It addresses all of the world economic systems, social systems, culture indoctrination, educational systems, health systems, and any related matters. The United Nations’ system functions as branches of government via the different compartments and they implement the policy with the use of both specialized agencies and non-governmental organizations.  Specialized agencies assist individual governments to carry out the agendas while the Non-Governmental Organizations distribute and lobby the propaganda.  ECOSOC is the head of this division of world government.  For example, the World Bank and IMF (International Monetary Fund) are both specialized agencies of the United Nations.  ECOSOC plays a key role in implementing the world policy into the individual government systems down to a very small scale.

See the International list of non-governmental organizations

See the International list of specialized agencies

The Trusteeship Council was set up to politically, economically, socially, and educationally indoctrinate inhabitants of trust territories before countries, known as “the administrating authorities”, acquired the land.  The United Nations commonly refers to this as “decolonization”.  The trust territories were determined by either international court already determined by the former League of Nations or were confiscated from countries defeated in World War II.  A great example In the U.S.A would be the annexations of Hawaii and Alaska.  Even with the annexations being handed down via the U.N. decisions based on Japan losing the war, Hawaii is heavily disputed as being a legal part of the U.S.A yet today.  The Trusteeship Council also produced an annual report with the progress of the territories to the General Assembly.  The Trusteeship Council suspended its operation in November of 1994 when the last trust territory, Palau, became a recognized “member” of the U.N..  The U.S.A. took control of Palau under U.N. auspices in 1947 via the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, part of the the United Nations Security Council Resolution 21.   In 1994 Palau became independent “according to law” and in 1998 the U.S.A. passed legislation making it an “Offshore Financial Center”.  According to an IMF (International Monetary Fund) report from 2014, Palau still remains an “Offshore Financial Center” today.

The International Court of Justice is the judicial branch of the United Nations. It functions in accordance with what it calls Statutes, the statutes are called treaties or trade agreements and when passed they become international law.  The current world court is based on the former law enforced by the League Of Nations known as the Statute of the Permanent Court of International Justice.  The International Court of Justice settles legal disputes submitted to it by countries.  It also writes advisory opinions on legal questions submitted to it by authorized United Nations compartments and specialized agenciesAll countries that are Members of the United Nations are under jurisdiction of the International Court of Justice.  With that being said, there is several different recognized international courts and tribunals governing the world law.  Each Court and Tribunal attempts to assert jurisdiction in different ways, ranging from criminal law to administrative procedure.

The Secretariat is the executive branch of the United Nations.  This compartment sets the agendas and executes the implementation of U.N. policy based on the decisions of the different U.N. bodies. This division operates political missions, prepares assessments, conducts surveys and research, and communicates with the media.  It also is the bridge of communication to give the instructions to the non-government organizations.  It is also responsible for publishing all of the treaties and international agreements. The head of the Secretariat is known as the Secretary-General, who is appointed by the General Assembly based on the recommendation of the Security Council.  The Secretary-General is the chief administrative officer of the organization and administers the different U.N. agendas known as operations.